A snow monster?

Disney's Frozen Snow Monster

One of the primary messages of Frozen is the importance of love between sisters. Love is (spoiler) what breaks both the curse of endless winter and cures Anna’s frozen heart. It also makes us all feel warm and fuzzy inside. Almost fuzzy enough to forget the numerous times that Elsa has either directly or indirectly tried to kill her sister. The first is mere minutes into the movie when young Elsa slips and falls and ends up launching an icicle at Anna’s head. Later on, Anna won’t stop hounding Elsa to return to Arendalle and ends up receiving an ice blast in the heart for her troubles. Both of these are considered accidents and therefore semi-excusable. Elsa is simply not able to control her powers. We get it. We feel for Elsa….we understand being told to ‘conceal don’t feel’ and then removed from contact with the outside world was not the best course of action her parents could have taken. We are all Team Elsa. And then she creates the snow monster…

Elsa creates a terrifying, demonic beast not on accident or even to protect herself, but to simply hasten her sister’s departure from the ice castle. Wasn’t that a little overkill? Couldn’t she have just created some super long ice slide home or something? Did she really need to forge something so malevolent and terrible that would not only chase them out but ultimately try to kill them? As much as I would like to, I just don’t think we can chalk this up to Elsa’s fear or lack of control. We’ve all seen that she can manipulate her powers pretty well even before she figures out the whole love thing. Don’t you remember her perfectly sculpted ice stairs, ice dress and the intricately designed ice castle?

Then at the climax of the movie, when Anna sacrifices her life for her sister, it would only make sense that Elsa would apologize for the multiple murder attempts. But, no! She doesn’t even mention it! She gets off scot-free by simply removing the winter that she originally caused and then makes an ice skating rink. So then why is Hans the villain? He only tried to kill Anna once…maybe one of the things that Elsa shouldn’t have let go of was taking some responsibility for her actions.

———–

More to come. Follow here –> @DadsQuestions

Image Credit: aceshowbiz.com

28 comments

        1. I remember that post. I have a few posts in draft form so I must have pulled from that when I read your post and left a comment. Apparently I really like the ice slide idea! 😉

  1. This is one of the various examples that with a little bit of smoothing, Frozen could have been an amazing film. It’s still good, but has so many holes.
    I’d still rather hang out with Rapunzel.

  2. I very much agree that the snow monster was unnecessary. Honestly, put some sort of ice wall between you that spells “stay out.” Elsa just went all berserk, and I honestly felt that she was the antagonist even though we were supposed to relate to her. It’s hard to even believe they are sisters because even when she has a chance to fix it, she tries to kill Anna.
    This is what was missing the whole time. There should have been one more song…

  3. The movie would be a bit cooler (no pun intended) with Elsa as the villain. Hans kind of sucked as a villain. He didn’t come off threatening or evil. Elsa on the other hand would be an amazing villain. The ending can be the same, but Elsa as the villain.

  4. I agree with eveyone saying ‘it could’ve gone better’ story wise, whilst it’s beautifully stunning to watch, the loose plot made me fall out of ‘love’ with this movie. I prefer the older classics which I obviously started questioning too but their stories seemed to unfold that bit better. Great humorous blog you have created here. 🙂

  5. Personally, I think Elsa created the snow monster as a rash, split-second act of self-defence. She’s not the best at coping with stress, is she? When her powers were exposed, she ran away and inadvertently caused an eternal winter! The monster actually does defend her during the summit siege. Besides, the monster was only intended to scare Anna and Kristoff away. All it does is throw them out and yell DON’T COME BAAAACK! Anna provoked it by throwing a snowball at it, as evidenced when Kristoff said “you made him mad”.

    1. Definitely see those points, however, the self defense argument breaks down for me when it was against her sister. If the castle had been under attack I can definitely see the snow monster and later when it is, it works. But not against her sister. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!!

  6. I just finally saw this last Saturday and while I’ll say I enjoyed it, I’ll also say I was taken by surprise when Elsa created the snow monster against her sister, and the story did seem a little “splotchy” at times. My daughter on the other hand is completely obsessed with it, so I guess I’ll let Disney get away with it this time. I on the other hand will continue to stick with the classics for now. I do love Rapunzel after seeing her with my daughter at Disney world though. 😉

    1. My daughter is obsessed as well. If we are in the car for more than 2 minutes, she asks us to put on ‘Let it Go!’ I have probably heard that song more times than any other song…ever. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. The ice monster, just like everything else Elsa creates, was a direct manifestation of her current emotions. When she did the ice palace, she was feeling creative and inspired by her new freedom. When she made Olaf, she was being affectionate and fun with Anna. So when she did Marshmallow, maybe it was because she was feeling defensive and outraged. Idk, that’s how I read it. 🙂

  8. In my eye’s at least, the snow monster is a branch of her personality. Just as olaf is. Where Olaf is the fun, goofy, childish side of her and also represents a happy time for her, the snow monster represents her fear of being the monster. In fact, at that point in the story, she still thought of herself as a villain and a monster. I agree, little bit of an overkill. But theres the deeper point of view on it.

  9. I always thought of the snow monster as a huge extension of Elsa herself. I thought Elsa somehow controlled the monster’s actions, which is why it only chased Anna and ordered her to go away, but didnt actually hurt her.

So, what do you think?

